Lagrima, a ceramic studio in the heart of Porto

I visited Joana from Lagrima Studio in Porto. Arriving to the address she had given me I was greeted by the doormen who introduced me to the mysteries of the building. The building is a big old garage still in use. It has an old fashion lift with running wood doors and labyrinthic corridors. These led me to the welcoming space of Lagrima, a pale space, with shelves lined with cups and bowls.  I was lucky, because I visited in a day when many pieces were fresh out of production.

2016_07_29_Lagrima5-2

Joana and Alexandre are partners in crime in this adventure. Their work feels organic with their asymmetrical forms and the celebration of the little imperfections all handmade products naturally have. Their ceramics are beautifully coloured, a happy  swirl of soft colours. I fell for some rose hues but colors go from dark to pale.

2016_07_29_Lagrima4
Above: Coffee cup with pink swirls.

Their range goes from bowls and server plates, from coffee cups to breakfast mugs, and would go just as well in any living room, table or bathroom.

2016_07_29_Lagrima7-2

2016_07_29_Lagrima6-2
Above:  Cups and swirls

Joana and I ended up discussing many things that had nothing to do with ceramics: about living in Porto and abroad, fashion, minimalism, thoughtful consumerism and yes… also a bit about  being a new ceramic brand, the challenges, hard work and rewards of making a living with a dream. A conversation I hope we can continue next time.

2016_07_29_Lagrima1
Above: Presents for me and others I cannot disclose.
2016_07_29_Lagrima2
Above: Lagrima’s bowl will look perfect as a small things collector in my bedroom.

 

Lagrima studio ceramics can be bought in their online store.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Lagrima, a ceramic studio in the heart of Porto”

Leave a comment